Thursday, March 20, 2008

Lots to like as RockyGrass lineup firms up

Planet Bluegrass announced the final slots for the 36th Annual RockyGrass Festival (July 25-27) in Lyons CO—virtuoso string duo Mike Marshall & Darol Anger and Infamous Stringdusters fiddler/vocalist Jeremy Garrett in a solo gospel set.

Highlights of the lineup are the all-new Dan Tyminski Band, old-time string band Carolina Chocolate Drops, the folk operatic Punch Brothers with Chris Thile, plus seminal newgrass pioneers Sam Bush, Béla Fleck, Jerry Douglas and Edgar Meyer.

Younger bands are well represented with Chatham County Line, The Steeldrivers, Infamous Stringdusters Bearfoot, Stairwell Sisters and Spring Creek Bluegrass Band. Other big names are Peter Rowan, Natalie MacMaster, Sparrow Quartet, J.D. Crowe, Adrienne Young, and Psychograss.

The complete day-by-day RockyGrass lineup:

Friday, July 25
Sam Bush, Jerry Douglas & Edgar Meyer * Dan Tyminski Band * Béla Fleck & Friends * John Cowan Band * Russ Barenberg & Bryan Sutton * The Steeldrivers * Mike Marshall & Darol Anger * Spring Creek Bluegrass Band

Saturday, July 26
Natalie MacMaster * Punch Brothers featuring Chris Thile * Abigail Washburn & The Sparrow Quartet featuring Béla Fleck * Psychograss * Infamous Stringdusters * Bearfoot * Chatham County Line

Sunday, July 27
Sam Bush Bluegrass Band * Carolina Chocolate Drops * Peter Rowan * JD Crowe & The New South * Adrienne Young & Little Sadie * Stairwell Sisters * Gospel Set featuring Jeremy Garrett

For complete information, visit the official site.

No comments: